Skip to content

It’s Gonna Be A Bumpy Ride

January 2, 2009

Homesteading was supposed to make him happy…change him, make him stop drinking, make him stop wanting the drugs. He craved it! He talked about it for years. He said he had to do it, promised it would change everything–HA!

8 years later, all was the same. All, that is, except me! I wasn’t the same anymore. I became broken but brave. I enabled myself to leave the mess I was in.

I left that broken world 11 years ago and have since grown even more. We never divorced so, when he died last year, I became a widow. I did not grieve over his death but I did feel the sorrow of his children and his brothers when they contacted me about his death.

I’m finally ready to tell about those 8 years, and the years before. And the years after. I plan to do the telling in some sort of order but I might come across random thoughts/memories and jump in with those, too.

Stick with me…….it’s gonna be a bumpy ride.

abm-blog-siggy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. solsticemoon permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:46 am

    I am right now where you were 11 years ago. I am glad you are ready to share your story now. I hope to follow along as I walk my own path back to light and joy.

  2. January 7, 2009 3:16 am

    I’ve been in for nearly ten years and am finally ready to move my feet. As I said one another brave soul’s blog –strength in self, strength in numbers.

    😉 Let’s watch over one another.

  3. thegirlzkorner permalink
    January 31, 2009 3:13 pm

    Major Kudos to you for stepping out of your comfort zone and creating this blog. Not only is it therapeutic for you but, your sharing your experience and making other women realize they are truly not alone. I commend and applaud you.

  4. January 31, 2009 6:37 pm

    Thank you, girlzkorner! I’m finding it easier to write about it as I go along. I’ve been remiss in posting lately but will step up the pace really soon 🙂

  5. Louna Cee permalink
    February 11, 2009 12:39 pm

    I am ready for the bumpy road while reading your blog.

    I truly hope that this year and the years to come, we can motivate others to regain our confidence and enjoy life to its fullest.

    Thank you!

  6. Lorraina permalink
    December 9, 2010 5:17 pm

    I’m ready to go on your bumpy ride and will start reading your story when i finish this post.
    I’m not a victim but have 2 sisters who were abused and one died. I believe knowledge is power and maybe i’ll learn something about how i can prevent this from ever happening in my family again.

  7. December 9, 2010 5:33 pm

    Welcome Lorraina! I hope this blog does help you and others. I’m so sorry to hear about your sisters– how horrible! Abuse is a horrible thing to go through and it takes many, many years to get over it– once one gets out– and some things stay with you the rest of your life!

Leave a Reply

