Skip to content

The First Sign

January 12, 2009

I picked up Rick at his workplace–he didn’t have a car (hmmm…..works in the oilfields, makes a ton of money, but no car??). We went to his parents house for a family party. Three of his brothers (he is one of five) and their wives were all there. I was having so much fun with all of them. It was a great night! Until…..

Rick and two of his brothers took my car to go get more liquor. They were all pretty drunk but their parents said Rick was ok to drive. They were gone about a half hour. When they got back, he came storming through the door and threw a black sweater at me. He was yelling at the top of his lungs! “Is this your boyfriend’s sweater?” I explained that it was Sam’s sweater (the neighbor boy). He had left it behind when I’d taken him to the store the other day. He continued raving at me “Is that who you want? You want Sam? Get your ass out of here and go to him!”

I was appalled and embarrassed that this was being said in front of his family! I was crying and didn’t know what to do. His family came to the rescue and some of them took him outside too cool off.

His parents told me not to worry, that he would feel bad after he was sober. They told me to go to the guest room, make myself at home, and all would be better tomorrow.

And it was. He was very sorry, he said the drinking made him do it and it would never happen again. It was just that he loved me so much and couldn’t stand the thought of me being with another man.

I fell for it.

abm-blog-siggy

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 8:00 am

    Isn’t it funny how we are always the ones left with the embarrassment of their actions?

    There is always a reason why they do (or did) those hateful things. Somehow, it always falls back on us…we set them off, they love us so much they can’t help it … and so on. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

