Skip to content

A couple of better years……

February 28, 2009

Not long after the physical abuse episode, the oil fields ‘caved in’. No more work. He couldn’t find any work in that little town so we moved to a bigger town where his parents lived. We stayed with them until work came along. He found small construction jobs that lasted a few weeks here and there but not enough to get us on our own.

Then I read an ad for an apartment manager. The requirements were to be able to do simple accounting and paperwork. I qualified so I checked out the job and was accepted. Part of payment was a furnished apartment with all of the utilities paid. Perfect! As an added bonus, it turned out they were also looking for a full time maintenance man. Bingo, he qualified for that job–he was a jack of all trades as it were. So, we got the job and moved in right away.

We were there for 2 years and had pretty good times. He loved it because he was with me 24/7. He always knew where I was and what I was doing. Not once were there any jealous episodes. I was calm, relaxed, and enjoyed having my own job and a little bit of control over him. After all, if anything needed fixed, I had to write him a repair request and he had to comply. 🙂

Towards the end of the 2 years, his brother came to stay with us and the family tradition of drinking together started up again. At first, he was discreet about his drinking because he knew if the tenants found out and it got back to the owners we would lose our jobs.

As time went by, they drank more and no longer limited it to at night when no one would know about it. They started drinking during the day and didn’t bother hiding it. They would drink poolside so, of course, others eventually saw what was going on. Plus, he neglected his maintenance duties. So, needless to say–we were fired!

I was so angry, livid! I had a great job and he ruined it for me! I left him and stayed with my Sis for a few days. I found another job, in the paper, wanting an apartment manager for a much smaller complex. I applied for it and the owner really liked me. He was in his mid-60’s and retiring so he didn’t want to be there on a day-to-day basis anymore. He hired me and I moved in 2 days later.

I thought ‘Wow! This is great! My own job, my own place to live, I was ecstatic!

A week later, there was the knock on the door. There stood Rick, all smiles and sweetness, and I fell for that charm–again!

abm-blog-siggy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2009 11:27 am

    oh no…don’t stop there…I want to know more!
    Your writing style is great!
    Write soon again!
    Jonie

  2. Louna Cee permalink
    March 3, 2009 3:40 pm

    I have to admit that you got me there! You left me wanting more…

    But that must have been a great job until the drinking…

    Louna

  3. March 3, 2009 6:16 pm

    This is why we should never let our guards down, no matter how sincere they seem. Two years of peace, hell breaks loose again … and then possible freedom and they come snaking back in.

    I’m looking forward to reading more, too.

    I know the story is going to get ugly before it gets pretty again, but here you are …away from him!

    It’s kind of nice to know a bit of the ending. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Moving On « All by Myself

Leave a Reply

