Skip to content

Self-Abuse

March 7, 2009

I was going to post a continuation of my last post but haven’t got the energy. I started a new job, after being unemployed for a month, and I am just wore out when I get home! I’ll get back to that continuation next week–I promise!

I was reading this article about self-abuse a couple weeks ago and, at first, I was angered by the post. Why? Because I don’t believe that I’ve ever abused myself. I understand what the author is trying to say and I’m sure he intended no offense to women. So I re-read it again and see where he’s coming from in his analysis of domestic violence.

Have a read and give me your opinions on this subject…….

She’s abusing herself

abm-blog-siggy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2009 4:05 pm

    I think something very important has not been addressed in that article – many, many millions of women don’t have a choice!
    Looking at the statistics, millions of girls never get an education, they can’t become independent, they might be married off as children and don’t have a say in it. Or they are sent out to work. Or they are not allowed to do anything, like in Afghanistan.
    Today is womens’ day and millions of women are marching for equality and the end of abuse.
    Even here in Europe it is well known that men get paid more for the same job.
    Inequality is very much part of our societies and it’s often not in a woman’s hands to change that!
    I guess I too feel angry!
    Looking forward to reading more of your story,
    Jonie

  2. March 8, 2009 7:53 pm

    Thanks Jonie! I knew there was something off there. I just couldn’t find the right words to comment on it. (One of THOSE days!) 😉

  3. March 12, 2009 11:35 am

    “When a woman feels incomplete without a man as a result of faulty environmental conditioning, she’s abusing herself.”
    I think this is the point “HE” was trying to make but as Jonie has pointed out, some women do not have the capacity to even understand what that means, through no fault of her own.

  4. March 12, 2009 7:23 pm

    I so much agree with that! If that’s how a woman was raised she takes it for granted that it’s ‘supposed’ to be that way. She wouldn’t even question it!

  5. Louna Cee permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:33 am

    Congrats on your new job! =)

    Take it easy and as I always say my friends… Eat well and keep snacking at work to keep the energy alive.

    I am still processing the article in my mind… Thanks for sharing!

  6. March 14, 2009 2:51 pm

    Unfortunately, the job is only 18 hours per week. I need to find ANOTHER part-time job to flesh out the hours! Northern Indiana is the 2nd worst place to find a job. GA is number one–as you well know. 😉

Leave a Reply

