Skip to content

Our Own Place

March 27, 2009

While working at the pizza place, there was a lull in the busyness and I was able to take some time and chit chat with Joe and Mary. I had mentioned to them, on a previous visit, that we were looking for our own place but couldn’t afford anything in town. They said they wanted to talk to Rick and me and invited us to come to their home the following day. We arrived the next morning and, over coffee and coffeecake, we discussed what we were looking for. We wanted a place in the country. Some place we could build on and make our own. They offered to show us a 10 acre plot of land that they owned and were willing to rent. They would rent it to us for one year and if we still wanted it then we would make arrangements to buy it. They said it was a 1/2 mile down the road behind their house so we all decided to walk it so we could really see the land and what it had to offer.

The first part of the road was graveled but with a 30 foot drop-off on one side, then the road dropped down to a steep grade that was all dirt and rocks so we had to be careful not to slip and slide down. It gradually leveled off and we loved the walk. It was so peaceful, nothing but thick woods. It was the end of March so most of the trees were bare and you could see for quite a ways. We could hear wildlife skitter here and there but didn’t see what wildlife it was as we were probably scaring them by invading their territory. Finally there was a curve in the road that lead to the house.

House? It was a rundown one bedroom shack! It was covered in green fiberglass siding and a tin roof and was the ugliest thing I’d ever seen! Rick said that was fine since it would only be for one year then we could build our own home the way we wanted it. There was a ‘Great Room’ that was a big, open room that contained the living room, kitchen, and woodstove. There was a bedroom behind that and a tiny bathroom next to the bedroom. The floor was native stone. Mary and Joe had hauled all those stones themselves, one by one, and laid the floor themselves many years ago in their younger days. Some of them were 2 foot square but all were flat and held together with cement then polished. It was beautiful!

The kitchen had upper cabinets and a long banquet table to be used as a counter. There was a small refrigerator and a propane gas stove. The bathroom was just a tiny square room with some shelves on the wall–and nothing else. There was no running water. It would have to hauled from town as needed and we would need to dig a deep hole, far away from the house, to accommodate any ‘waste’. We would need to have a makeshift potty that we could carry out to the hole and empty every day.

Outside, there was a 625 square-foot garden and a pond of about the same size and 8 feet deep. Rick was very excited about the pond–he could go fishing everyday! (He loved to fish and deer hunt so this was heaven for him.) All of this sat in the middle of 100 acres of woods. It was totally isolated and Joe and Mary would be our closest neighbors a 1/2 mile away. There was no phone but they said we could call the phone company and put up a deposit to have a phone line strung down there.

Rick was so excited and I got caught up in it, too. There were so much potential here even though it was going to be rough living for quite some time. He asked me if I thought I could handle it. It would be very hard work for both of us. I didn’t even hesitate. I said I was all for it!

Later, when he told his brother’s family about it, they said I wouldn’t last 3 months. Well!! I’ll tell you now that I lasted 8 years and I loved nearly every minute in that heavenly retreat, I loved homesteading and roughing it—I just did it with the wrong man……..

abm-blog-siggy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Louna Cee permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:37 pm

    That last paragraph threw me off a bit… as I thought all of this was currently happening. But 8 years in that small retreat.. .Wow!
    Too bad for the “wrong man” part…. 😉

  2. Louna Cee permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:40 pm

    I take it back when I mentioned “currently happening…”), as I have just now read the “About” section (once again)…

    I guess i’m still sleep deprived and my mind is making me act like a ding-dong head! 😉

    Louna

  3. March 28, 2009 1:02 am

    Wow!! 8 years like that!! Wow again!!
    You’re amazing!
    Hugs, Jonie

  4. March 28, 2009 8:05 am

    Yes, 8 long years but it made me stronger/tougher and the woman I am now!

    Louna Cee, I do the same thing. I have to read someone’s About page every other time I read their blog so I remember the background of the blog! 🙂

  5. Louna Cee permalink
    March 28, 2009 9:28 pm

    I can only imagine how ‘thick’ your skin must be after 8 difficult years… literally!!!

    Louna!

  6. March 29, 2009 1:14 pm

    i love the pic of the flower growing out of the pot…..be strong…be you….great blog very inspirational…Zman sends

  7. March 29, 2009 7:39 pm

    zmanowner, thank you so much! The tree growing symbolizes my personal growth.
    I’ve saved your blog to check out real soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

