Skip to content

Danged Ol’ Dog

May 9, 2009

Dang Ol Dog
Seriously…that was his name. But we called him Dang. Rick would tell people it was short for Danger but he was about as dangerous as a bowl of jello. We got him about 2 months before we moved down to the woods. I was excited for him because we had to keep him tied up when he was outside, living in town, and I hate to tie up a dog. He was a beagle and he needed to run so the woods was going to be great for him or so I thought.

The first few days we were there, Dang stayed wherever we were. He’d follow us everywhere. He was my sidekick. After that, though, I would be in the house and he would be outside on the porch but then I’d look out and not see him anywhere. I waited awhile before calling him thinking he was relieving himself somewhere nearby. Well, I called and called and went out looking for him but didn’t see him anywhere. I was afraid that something got him because the woods were teeming with all kinds of wildlife and not all of it was friendly.

I gave up the search and went in to cook dinner. A little while later, I heard the jeep coming down the road and ran out to tell Rick that Dang was missing. Well! Who’s sitting in the front seat with Rick? Dang!!  Rick said he’d been up on the highway but when Rick pulled over Dang jumped right up into the jeep. It was like he was waiting for Rick to come home. Well, I couldn’t have him running off like that and possibly getting killed by animals or run over on the highway. I, sadly, put a leash on him whenever we were outside together. I hated it that he couldn’t have the freedom to run like I wanted him to but I needed to train him to stay close by. He was a quick study, though, and within a couple weeks I was able to keep him off the leash and he would stay close to me.

One day, after breakfast, I needed to go out to the garden and get some work done. Dang laid at the edge of the garden and napped. I worked in the garden for about an hour, weeding and gathering the veggies that were ready for picking. I put them into a basket, called for Dang, and we went back to the house. I opened the screen door and there–IN MY HOUSE–on the doorstep was a bright orange and black snake!!

I screamed! My heart stopped, then re-started with 90 mile an hour flutters! Vegetables flew everywhere and the snake practically glided in mid-air and headed for the woods. I probably scared it as much as it scared me! I ran into the house, knocking Dang out of the way as he was scared and trying to get inside also. I locked the screen door and blocked all the gaps with anything I could find (the screen is not flush with the doorway) and sat at the table with my feet up under me keeping a vigil on that doorway until Rick got home from work.

By then I was a babbling idiot as I rattled out my story to him. He was so understanding and calmed me down. He fixed the door so it was ‘snake-tight’ and he even fixed dinner since I was in no shape to handle any cooking utensils. I was still shaking so badly I probably would have cut myself or knocked myself out with the frying pan. He was sweet about the whole thing. I expected him to tease and make fun of me for such a silly fear (to me it was a real fear and still is to this day) but he was so nice about it. He also never let anyone else tease  me about it either. I suspect that he had the same fear but would never, ever own up to it.

Now, I had to figure out how I was ever going to be able to go outside again without peeing my pants…..blink
abm-blog-siggy

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 1:53 pm

    I’d have run a mile … actually I’d still be running!
    Dang wasn’t much help though…
    Glad you came to no harm!

  2. May 9, 2009 4:07 pm

    No, Dang was no help at all but he was just 4 months old. Later, I get a couple of ‘killer’ dogs who take care of me real good!! 🙂

  3. pioneerjo permalink
    May 13, 2009 2:34 pm

    I am sorry, but I did laugh. Not at the fear of snakes, GM has it really bad, he sh oots t hem, but because I could picture the whole veggies-flying-woman-and-dog-freaking-out scene as the snake made hell bent for leather to the cover of the woods! I would be a lot more leary of snakes if we had poisenous ones up here but it’s to cold!

  4. May 13, 2009 5:42 pm

    Oh I laugh about it myself! Every time I tell about that incident, I get laughs because it is funny!
    Kudos to GM–I shoot them too!! The only good snake is a dead snake!

  5. May 16, 2009 1:27 pm

    I really enjoyed this…..the first night in my life that I was ever totally alone….no parents, no husband, no kids, my cat found a snake in the master bathroom……I went ballistic…..bless the neighbor that came and rescued me from the snake……..was afraid to go to bed and go to sleep later that night until I realized my Lord was watching over me and would take care of me…..xxxxx

  6. May 16, 2009 1:42 pm

    Welcome to my blog Judi!!
    Where did you live that would have a snake in the master bathroom?

  7. Nancy permalink
    May 17, 2009 11:09 am

    Leapin Lizards a snake. I would have done more than peeing my pants.
    Thats all it would have taken for me to move back to the city.
    Barbara I still see a book here.
    Nancy

  8. May 17, 2009 4:21 pm

    Thank you Nancy! I just don’t see me writing an actual book. Let’s just say this blog IS the book! 😉

  9. May 19, 2009 11:41 pm

    What an adorable, precious pup! 😀

    Now … I also had to laugh at the thought of all those veggies flying, but oh my goshhhhhhhh. I think I would have done the same if not worse! Eeek!! Snakes scare the bejeesus out of me, too. You poor thing! Yikessss!!!

Leave a Reply

