Skip to content

Close Encounters……

May 23, 2009

Of the slithering kind. Yes, I had more close calls with those slithering heathens. Joe and Mary told me that, over time, I would get used to them but they didn’t know me very well!! I grew up with a fear of snakes so I don’t think I’m going to ‘shake it off’ any time soon. As far as I’m concerned the only good snake is a dead snake. Yes, I know they’re great for keeping the mice population down–Big Deal! I’ll set traps!

Since my last encounter, I would talk myself into going outside–always ever-watchful which made me a nervous wreck. Dang would be with me but that fact didn’t soothe my nerves any since he was afraid of them, too. If I walked up the road to Joe and Mary’s I learned to take a walking stick with me. Rick made me a really nice sturdy one that was thick towards the bottom but slender at the top to fit my hand comfortably. If I saw a snake, I would rustle the leaves or grass with the stick and the snake would move away. I constantly scanned the ground during my walk which took away from my enjoyment of the scenery and beauty around me.

One evening, Rick was sitting outside and happened to look up at the top of a very old tall oak tree in front of the house. It looked like there was a long rag hanging from one of the branches. I brought him the binoculars and, lo & behold! It was a snakeskin!! A very long snakeskin. Apparently the snake had been up there when it was shedding. Oh great!! Now I not only had to keep an eye on the ground, I had to watch the trees, too!

One time, Rick killed a poisonous copperhead snake out by the pond. He said it acted like it was coming after him and scared the fire outta him! He killed it with a big rock.
I  was always so grateful when October came and the weather cooled down since snakes aren’t around in cold weather. Well! That wasn’t always the case!

One October morning, I was outside picking up trash that had blown against the side of the house from the wind the day before. It was chilly enough to wear a heavy sweater so I felt safe that snakes wouldn’t be out. As I bent down and reached for a piece of paper–there, right in front of my face, was a copperhead! It was only 6 inches from my hand. I stood up and backed up real damn fast! The only thing that saved me from getting bit was that it was too cold for the snake to move very fast.  I ran into the house and grabbed my gun (Rick bought me a pistol and trained me to shoot it a couple months before this). I went back out and, holding the gun in both hands as my hands were shaking so badly, I emptied that sucker at the snake, the ground, the doghouse, and anything else that was in the area. [You need to picture Don Knotts on the Mayberry RFD t.v. show]

After emptying my gun, the die-hard S.O.B. was still moving! So, I ran in and grabbed Rick’s pistol and emptied that, too. Finally, the snake lay still. When Rick got home he had a huge laugh at my escapade then took the dead snake out to the woods and tossed it away.

A few days later, Rick came home with some good news. There was a couple, down the county road, who raised Plott hounds. They were natural protectors and snake-killers with very little training. He said he would bring one home the next day.
Good! Maybe I was going to have a true sidekick finally!

abm-blog-siggy


8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2009 4:09 pm

    Good grief, Barbara!
    I’m glad you can laugh about it now – the way you describe your shooting efforts is hilarious!
    Thanks for a great read and I’m so glad you’re alive to tell us about it!!
    Jonie

  2. Groundy permalink
    May 25, 2009 10:58 am

    heh!
    I can just see you as a female version of Barney Fife.. We’ll just call you Barbie Fife from now on!

    Karen

  3. May 25, 2009 11:22 am

    Ah yes, you must be the incarnate of the Minoan Snake Goddess Knossos!
    You wild and crazy snake wranglin’ gal, you!
    Very funny story.

  4. May 25, 2009 1:17 pm

    Groundy, Barbie Fife it is then!

    Lea, Umm–yeh, that’s me–a snake goddess. 😉

    Thank you both for making me laugh!!

  5. Groundy permalink
    May 25, 2009 3:45 pm

    damn..i need to start processing my thoughts completely..
    I am glad you figured it out..

    We’ll just *you Barbie Fife from now on!<<< insert CALL*

  6. May 27, 2009 3:01 pm

    Snakes are scary. I get the willies just thinking about them!

    Thank goodness you weren’t bitten and were able to get that darn snake. Yikesssss!!! *shivers* lol

  7. May 30, 2009 12:16 pm

    Barbara,
    You remind me so much of my daughter. Leapin Lizards and slithering snakes. I was laughing the entire time. I love the name Barbie Fife.

  8. May 30, 2009 8:43 pm

    Haha! Thanks Nancy!
    ‘Barbie Fife’

Leave a Reply

