Skip to content

Getting use to the abuse……

June 6, 2009

A scientist conducted an experiment. She put frog number 1 into a pan of very hot water. The frog jumped right out. Then she placed frog number 2 in a pan of cool water. This frog didn’t jump out. Very gradually, the scientist raised the temperature of the water. The frog gradually adapted until it boiled to death.
…….Anonymous

A woman is conditioned by her family, her culture, and her relationships. None of us is entirely free of conditioning. Consequently, we adapt, and our conditioning influences the way we interpret our experience.

Wow!

(Sorry for such a short post! I can’t seem to get my head wrapped around my thoughts today!)

abm-blog-siggy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Groundy permalink
    June 7, 2009 12:44 am

    awww Barbie Fife! hugssssssssss….
    I know that feeling, I just rambled on – like a broke record.

    It will come together soon!

  2. June 7, 2009 1:28 am

    I’m so glad you were more clever than that frog and did jump out of the pan!!

  3. June 7, 2009 10:57 am

    Groundy (K), yeh, just one of those days where there was too much on my mind and I couldn’t concentrate on the blog. But I think the above statement is important enough to share even though I didn’t have much to comment on about it.

    Jonie, thank you! I jumped while I had the chance.

  4. Groundy permalink
    June 13, 2009 3:14 pm

    This comes to my mind today…
    I felt that all I can say is ‘Shampoo Rinse and Repeat’…

  5. Sarah permalink
    July 19, 2010 5:22 am

    I climbed very very slowly up the sides to get out of the pot and whilst I was teetering on the edge of the pan trying to work out how to jump, my ex-partner came up and pushed me off as hard as he could, he was so angry I was climbing the side of the pot. The good news is I got out of that pot! And this kinds of websites help me to remember that it didn’t happen because I’m so dumb, it happened because I believed in the beautiful dream I was sold and I adapted and was tolerant and kind and forgave…until I was pushed to the limit. It’s one thing to escape the situation, but it takes time and patience and work, to escape the damage that is done by all that boiling in hot water and also the confusion as to how one got there.

  6. July 19, 2010 9:58 am

    Sarah, I’m so happy you got out of that pot! You’re right– none of us were/are dumb!
    We were all tricked by a master of deception.

    Yes, the healing takes a long time. Some never heal completely, and that is sad. It took me many years to get beyond it but to this day, 13 years after getting out, I still don’t want a man in my life. I probably will continue to be a loner always. But, I’m happy that way and that’s ok!

    Thank you for the visit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

