Skip to content

Feminists and Women’s Lib

June 13, 2009

I was talking to a friend of mine today about women’s lib and remembered I had written this piece for our local paper in 1993. I decided to post it and see what kind of controversy I could stir up among my readers. 🙂  Enjoy!

Feminists: The Whiney’s of the 90’s
by me
1993

It seems to me that feminism has gone too far. I’m all for women’s rights to a reasonable extent, but some feminist causes are so blown out of proportion that it’s almost comical.

First of all, why do these women call themselves “feminists”? I see nothing feminine about a woman who dresses in a manly suit, standing at a podium, spouting off about the woes of today’s women.

Most of these feminists are not anywhere close to living the kind of life the average woman lives today. They are career-oriented and make far more money than today’s housewife could even dream of! Compared to the average woman of today—feminists are a minority. Why is it feminists have ‘careers’ and other women just have ‘jobs’? Work is work—no matter what you call it. I guess the difference is that a job is much harder to do, involves more physical work, and has lower pay.

Seems to me a woman with a job should be commended for her achievements more so than a career woman. Women with jobs still have the responsibility of coming home from work to care for their families and do yet another job–housework! A career woman has the advantage of being affluent enough to hire housekeepers and nannies so they can leave work and go to the spa or to a nice restaurant for dinner!

Many women with jobs have those jobs because they HAVE to work, they have to help out during these financially hard times. A lot of career women work because they just want to or because they are (heaven forbid) bored at home.

Then there’s the feminist issues—There’s too much to-do about sex discrimination in the workplace. There was the petite woman who applied for the job of jackhammer operator. She sued for sexual discrimination after being turned down! Well! If the employer had any sense, he would have turned down a petite man also! Besides, why would a woman want such a job??!

Then there’s the issue of sexual harassment—C’mon! Lighten up! So a guy makes a pass at you or gives you a pat on the rear–what happened to the old ways? A woman use to haul off and slug a man if she was offended or, at the very least, ignored him. Now women are suing in the courts against these ‘horrible acts’ wasting the courts time. Time that could be spent trying REAL criminals like drug dealers and murderers.
((noted today by me–this was not meant as a comment on more serious matters where a woman was made to ‘give in’ to keep her job. It was meant about harmless flirtation on the job))

And what is this ‘politically correct’ crap? A mailman is now a mailperson, an actress is now an actor, a paperboy is now a news carrier. The chairman of a committee is now a chairpersonPersonally, I think it all sounds so cold and inhuman–almost robot-like. I like knowing whether someone is male or female.

I do not want to be like a man. I do not want to do “man-things”. I enjoy being a woman and I’d like it to stay that way. To all of the so-called “Sisters” out there–count me out! Stay in your boardrooms, manage your careers, and leave us REAL women alone!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Groundy permalink
    June 13, 2009 3:17 pm

    Thats what like about my job.. go in do it and leave.

    I am also glad that I grew up when I did- I have more opportunity now than before.

  2. June 13, 2009 3:18 pm

    Amen, Barbara……. Women’s Lib spoiled so many things for women. Are they the reason we have very few REAL men in the world today???? Women are wanting to be more like men and men are trying to find their feminine side…….no wonder our world is in such a mess!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I want to always be feminine and I like the courtesies men used to afford us….opening doors, offering us places to sit, etc, which are so lacking today. *putting my soapbox away* 🙂

  3. June 13, 2009 3:41 pm

    I don’t agree with all of this..
    I guess it’s how we define feminism.
    For me it just means equal rights, opportunities and pay for men and women.
    If you go to Wikipedia you’ll find a very interesting article about it.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feminism
    A pat on the rear – now that is totally unacceptable! What if a woman did that to a man?! I think it’s bad manners and lack of respect in either case.
    Ok, we’ll agree here to disagree 🙂
    But I do agree on the politically correct stuff – that has really gone over the top, though I guess the younger generation wouldn’t agree with us here!
    Interesting reading, thanks!
    Hugs, Jonie

  4. June 13, 2009 5:55 pm

    Groundy, that is so true–you do have many more opportunities than my generation and that IS good!

    Judi, my ‘partner in crime’ on this issue, there is a lot of truth in what you say!!

    Joni, I’m for the same things you are–equality wise. As for the ‘pat on the rear’ statement, remember that I wrote this 16 years ago when I was a country gal and not in the workforce so didn’t really have a clue as to what it was all about. I was rather innocent about that factor. I’m off to read your Wiki link now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

