Skip to content

The End of Year One

July 18, 2009

..and what a year!! I have learned so many new things! Not only gardening, building a fire in a woodstove, how to live without running water, taking care of the animals and handling our first winter in the woods but learning more about myself.

I am much more resilient than I ever was and I’m so much stronger, and tougher–not only physically but emotionally also. I’ve learned what I’m willing to–and NOT willing to put up with. I’ve learned more about the workings of Rick’s mind although I do not understand those workings.

This has been a good life even with a few hard times. We are sure that we want to buy the property and will get in touch with Joe & Mary to start the procedure as soon as possible.

Some ’firsts’ of my first year homesteading:

–Watching the deer come into the garden and graze….such a peaceful sight!

–Learned about wild onions, blackberries, huckleberries…all of which are so-o-o good!

–Heard my first whippoorwill….what a beautiful sound to wake up to and fall asleep to every
morning and evening during the summer months.

–Growing aloe vera plants and using them for healing cuts/scrapes….works wonders!

–Discovering a Golden Rain tree near our garden….such beauty!
Golden Rain Tree

–Making watermelon preserves…wow! Good stuff!!

–Seeing albino armadillos by the garden. Ha! I lived in Texas for 8 years, where armadillos are
supposed to be famous for being everywhere, and I never saw one until living in Arkansas!

Albino Armadillo–Learning to draw up house plans and doing a damn fine job of it!

All in all a pretty good first year with the hope of many, many more to come! I love this way of life!!

((This will by last post for about 3 weeks as I will be preparing to move to Texas. I will be moving in wih my 87 year old Mom to take care of her. She’s getting to the point where she should no longer live alone. I hope to be back to posting by August 8th.))

abm-blog-siggy

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2009 1:34 pm

    I’m amazed – you are amazing!
    I’m glad your first year was good on the whole and looking forward to more.
    Shall miss you!
    Hugs.

  2. July 18, 2009 1:39 pm

    Thank you Jonie!
    I’m sorry you will miss me but 3 weeks isn’t too long. I’ll be back before you know it! 😉

  3. Cathy permalink
    July 19, 2009 9:03 am

    Barbara , I just want to thank you for sharing your life . I love reading your stories. I just wish things could have been better and your life could have been much easier . You have a safe trip. Cathy

  4. July 19, 2009 11:09 am

    Thanks bunches Cathy!!

  5. Groundy permalink
    July 19, 2009 11:49 am

    Barbie!

    Congratulations on a year well defined with huge accomplishments. You are an amazing woman. I admire you.
    Always remember, change is evolutionary.

    Take care of yourself, have a safe trip and hurry back.

    Best thoughts your way
    Karen

  6. July 19, 2009 12:22 pm

    Thanks Karen!!! I’m amazed, when I look back, just how much I learned and changed from this experience!!

  7. July 24, 2009 3:07 pm

    Yup, I’ve lived in Texas over 30 years and I still haven’t seen a live Armadillo, but I have seen hundreds of them as roadkill along our roads.

    Looking forward to you being a fella Texan, Barbara….have a safe trip.

    xxxxx

  8. July 24, 2009 3:37 pm

    That’s what’s so funny, Judi! I didn’t even see any dead on the roadsides! Then I moved to Arkansas and not only see 2 live ones but Albinos at that!

  9. July 24, 2009 3:43 pm

    I see dead ones on the road every time I go out of the city….and sometimes see them in the city….maybe they have all moved down here….deep in the heart of Texas?????

  10. July 24, 2009 3:59 pm

    Yeh, West TX is probably to dry and dusty for them! 🙂

  11. Terry permalink
    July 26, 2009 2:47 pm

    I just visited “All By Myself”.I am so deeply moved by your honesty and your strength.I was moved to tears by your story, because, I have been on both ends of that nightmare. I have been free of my anger now for the last five years. Too late to save my marriage, but not to late to see my relationship with my children completely healed and restored. I hope I didn’t violate a boundary by writing this to you.
    Bless you, and thank you for sharing about yourself.
    Terry

  12. July 26, 2009 3:00 pm

    Terry, thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a great comment and compliment to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

