Skip to content

Henry Hawg Part II

August 29, 2009
Henry at 9 months old

Henry at 9 months old

Henry one year

Henry Hawg Part II

On our second day with Henry, we still left him alone and let him do what he wanted. He did come out of the box so I put it away. I fed him in the morning but when finished, he went back to his bed I made for him under the kitchen table. If he ventured out or we came near him, he’d run back to his bed. He peed on the kitchen floor, I mopped it up with a paper towel and put that in his litter box as a hint. But that didn’t work. That night he pooed on the bathroom floor (at least he was in the right room!) so I moved the litter box in there.

The next morning I found he had pooed on the bathroom floor again but this time he came in with me and watched me pick it up and put it in his litter box. About 30 minutes later, I had to go, and he followed me in there and he went in his litter box while I did my business. The rest of the day every time I needed to go, he had to go too! Hence, Henry became potty trained that quick! Smart little guy!

If I was standing still, he’d come over and root my toes or bump my legs with his nose but still wouldn’t let me pet him. He didn’t run anymore–just backed up and grunted. So that was some progress! Finally, on the 4th day, he let me touch him. Rather than trying to pet him like a dog, I reached down and scratched behind his ears–he loved it! He loved scratching and belly rubs. He’d fall over on his side and just let you scratch and scratch–he was in ‘hog heaven’!

Henry was allowed to go anywhere in the house he wanted to except to get up on the bed. I would sit on the bed to do my needlework so I didn’t want him up there. The first time he tried to jump up there, I swatted his nose and said a firm “No!” He jumped back down, grunting the whole time, and went over to a tub of newspapers I kept for starting fires in the woodstove. In grunting fury, he tore through all those newspapers and shredded them–he was throwing a temper tantrum! I let him do it as he wasn’t hurting anything and I could continue my needlework without interruption!

The next time he tried to jump on the bed and was swatted, he went over to a box of rags I kept in the kitchen and he pulled all of the rags out during his temper tantrum. Then he pushed the empty box over to the bed, pushed the box around until the opening faced the bed and he pushed some of the rags inside and laid down. He slept in that box every night and during the day when I sat on my bed and did my needlework! Pigs are very creative and smart!

After a few more days, I was able to sit on the floor and Henry would come sit in my lap for a scratching. I was finally able to lift him off the floor, about 6 inches in the air, with no squealing. He was beginning to trust me. He didn’t have much to do with Rick since he was only home evenings and weekends so he became my buddy.

After a week, we decided to see how the dogs and Henry would get along. They had seen each other through the screen door and the dogs looked interested but Henry wanted nothing to do with them. We went outside with him and the dogs inched up to him but Henry would grunt and back up. Apparently that’s all that was needed to inform the dogs that Henry was not going to be a playmate. The dogs would play out in the pen and Henry would stay off to himself exploring here and there. The dogs seemed to respect his wishes and left him alone. The kittens, on the other hand, loved Henry and he loved them! When he  grew bigger, he would walk around the yard with the kittens riding on his back. He would find a sunny area and lie down, they would stay on his back and knead their claws on him which gave him a good scratching, then they would all asleep in the sun together–too cute!

On the days that I walked up to Carol’s, Henry would follow me part way but he was too slow to keep up with me and would get left behind. When I’d come back down the road to go home, he’d be laying in a sunny spot waiting for me and would walk the rest of the way with me.

The funniest thing Henry ever did was something I hold dear in my memories. A couple years after we got him, he’d become quite the stout pig–150 pounds–but he was still my baby. One night, Rick came home drunk. I was sitting up in bed reading and Rick laid down next to me and passed out. For some reason, Henry did not approve. Henry jumped up on the bed, pushed and pushed on Rick until he rolled Rick off the bed onto the floor!! Rick briefly woke up, looked to see where he was and promptly passed out again. Henry looked down at him , then plopped down next to me and went to sleep. I was astounded! I gave Henry a big hug and told him, “Good pig! I love you Henry!”

I miss my pig. 😦

abm-blog-siggy

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 1:21 am

    Oh, what a lovely story!
    I had never thought of a pig as a pet!
    Looking forward to more!
    That photo is beautiful –
    so he made his way into your heart and unto your bed!! 🙂

  2. August 30, 2009 10:00 am

    Thank you Jonie! Yes, the little grunt finally made it up on the bed but he earned that reward!! hahaha!!

  3. Margie permalink
    August 31, 2009 12:53 pm

    What a neat little pet. I may just want me one now.

  4. August 31, 2009 2:54 pm

    Welcome to my blog Margie!! Yes, they are darling pets if you learn to care for them properly.

  5. August 31, 2009 5:45 pm

    Oh my gosh! How cute! I want one! But my husband would not like him on the bed! lol my poor dog COpper has to sneak on in the dead of night as it is!…

  6. August 31, 2009 6:24 pm

    Hi Joey!! Henry usually never wanted on the bed at night, just during the afternoon when I was on it cross-stitching. You can train them not to get up on it. They are very smart little critters!

  7. Victoria/atl permalink
    September 15, 2009 11:22 pm

    Oh, Barb!

    I’d always heard pigs made good friends and are very smart.

    This is so cute and touching … very interesting!

    I hope your move went well and that you’re all settled in. I’m going to read more and get caught up on your blog 🙂 hugs!

  8. September 16, 2009 10:04 am

    Hi Victoria!! I’ve missed you! I’m all settled and doing well! You can keep up with my adventures with Mom at…….

    http://seniorsafari.wordpress.com/

  9. September 16, 2009 3:25 pm

    Wow, he was huge, but still looked adorable, especially with the kittens.
    I would never have imaged you could train a pig. Sounds like Henry Hawg was easier live with than Rick.
    🙂

  10. September 16, 2009 4:47 pm

    Thank you Nancy! Henry was MUCH easier to live with than Rick! I’ve always said “I’ll take 4 legs and a tail over a 2-legged asshole anyday!”

    See my silliness here……….

    http://mousemusings-bbb.blogspot.com/2009/09/4-legs-tail.html

  11. September 27, 2009 8:57 am

    Awesome! i too will take a 4legged over a 2legged! and regarding 2legged assholes, well I’ll take a five, six or fifteen legged over those!

  12. September 27, 2009 9:17 am

    Hahaha! Thanks for the comment dogkisses!

Leave a Reply

