Skip to content

Taking Care Of Carol

September 6, 2009

I got a phone call one day from Carol’s daughter, Nancy. She said Carol had fell and banged up her head pretty bad but, other than that, was ok. She asked if I would mind staying with Carol during the week from 8 am until after lunch. Nancy was a school teacher with a family of 2 boys and a husband and wouldn’t be able to be with Carol except on the evenings and weekends. I told her I would be happy to do it but she insisted I do it for pay at $6.00 per hour. I accepted the offer and went up to visit with Carol and tell her of the arrangements.

Poor darlin’! She looked terrible! Her little face was swollen and bruised. She had fell face-forward when going down her back steps. She was still a little shaky from the incident. Her bed was in the living room where the fireplace was with the TV nearby. I helped her settle in bed and turned on the TV for her. I told her what Nancy and I had agreed on and she was relieved that she would have me with her to help her with meals and cleaning. I was already helping her in that way on occasion on the weekends so to do it throughout the week was nothing to me. I did welcome the money. It would be the first time in years that I had my own money.

I fixed her lunch for her then she laid down for a nap and would be fine until Nancy came over after school was out for the day. I went back home with all my critters–all 3 dogs and Henry were waiting on our road for me–they romped and played and explored the woods and I had some pretty good chuckles at their antics.

When Rick arrived home from work, I told him the news. He was not happy. I felt letdown. He said he didn’t like me going up there for half a day, 5 days a week, without him. I asked him why not? He would only say “I don’t like it! That’s all!”

A couple hours later, after a few beers, he started in on me….
“Why do you have to go up to Carol’s to help her? Can’t they find someone else?”
Why should they find someone else, Rick? I already know how to take care of her and it’s convenient for me to do it plus make a little extra money.
“Why do you need extra money? Don’t I take care of you good enough?”
Yes, you take care of me real good, Rick, but it’s nice to have some spending money of my own.
“Why? Who you gonna spend it on?”
What do you mean ‘who am I gonna spend it on’? I’ll spend it on stuff I want or for things for us or the house.
“Yeh, right! You got some guy on the side you wanna buy stuff for.”
Oh Jesus Christ Rick! How do you come up with this shit?

I went outside and did some gardening until he passed out. My new job wasn’t going to be as fun as I thought after all!

abm-blog-siggy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. pioneerjo permalink
    September 6, 2009 4:12 pm

    Fucker. That’s all that comes to mind for him. Poor Carol. It is sad when you see your elderly friends start having problems like that and needing help. It is good that you did it…though I don’t know for how long since Rick was being an asshat….

  2. September 6, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hi Joey!! Fucker is a real good word for him! I was able to continue taking care of her until she ended up moving in with her son. Rick didn’t stop me–I didn’t let him!!

  3. September 7, 2009 12:39 pm

    I’m glad you didn’t let Rick stop you!! Good on you!
    Poor Carol – Rick didn’t have much love for her either, did he!!
    Hugs to you, strong lady!!

  4. September 7, 2009 12:54 pm

    Jonie, that’s what was so sad–he DID love Carol but his jealousy overrode that. His jealousy ate at him continuously–it never did let up! He was afraid a male neighbor or friend would come to visit Carol while I was there and that did happen on occasion but, good Lord, they were all in their 70’s and 80’s but that didn’t matter to Rick!

  5. September 16, 2009 3:44 pm

    I think in his own way Rick loved you very much, I think in his own mind he was trying to protect you, when in fact his behavior of drinking and abuse was because he knew he was a failure as a husband and a man. For whatever reason Rick was a JERK.

  6. September 16, 2009 4:49 pm

    I totally agree Nancy. I think he didn’t know how to show love properly!

Leave a Reply

