Skip to content

Losing Another Friend

September 19, 2009

I had been taking care of Carol for a few months when, one morning, I received a call from her daughter Nancy. Carol had fell the night before and had broken her hip. She was in the hospital. Nancy met me at the top of the road and we drove in to see Carol.

She looked so frail, so helpless, but still had her ever cheerful smile and great sense of humor. I visited her nearly every day for weeks as I was allowed the use of her little pick-up truck.  I went up to her house every day and fed her cats and kept a fire going in the woodstove as this was during the early part of winter.

One day, her son from Georgia called me and said he would be moving her to his home as soon as she was healed enough to make the move. He felt she needed full-time care and he could afford to have someone come in for that but he wanted her with him.

I went to see her on the day she was leaving the hospital. We were both sad at her leaving. Her farm had been her life for 50 plus years and she knew no other lifestyle but that. But, with her ever optimistic view, she saw this as an adventure and was ready to go to Georgia. We said our goodbyes, then her son spoke to me about keeping up with the house and the care of the cats. Nancy, would be getting the cats later to live with her but he wanted me to keep the house warm so the water pipes didn’t freeze, and to keep it dusted. I said I’d be happy to do that for her and I would not except payment. It’s what good neighbors do.

So, I continued with the upkeep of her house which turned out to be a good thing. The house would be my living quarters very shortly thereafter………..

abm-blog-siggy

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2009 2:35 pm

    I’m glad Carol’s son was there for her and I hope she was happy…a sad story though somehow, leaving her home of so many years…
    Ok, now I want to know more!

  2. September 19, 2009 2:45 pm

    I want to know more too!
    Are you still there?
    Are you with the kitties?

  3. September 19, 2009 2:53 pm

    Thanks Jonie. Yes, Carol was happy there until her passing a few years later. I still think of her often as she was such a mentor to me and helped me to gain the strength to deal with Rick.

  4. September 19, 2009 2:55 pm

    Lea!!! Haven’t heard from you in ages! How are you! No, I’m not still there. This is my story of living in an abusive relationship and getting out 12 years ago. More to come soon………. 😉

  5. September 20, 2009 1:22 pm

    “It’s what good neighbors do.”
    By your being such a good friend and neighbor to Nancy, her family chose to return your gift of compassion by giving you a place to stay. They like you are good people.

  6. September 20, 2009 2:13 pm

    Oh thank you Nancy! That is so sweet of you to say!!

    (Don’t know why my Blogger ID mouse is showing but–ok?!)

  7. pioneerjo permalink
    September 21, 2009 5:06 pm

    It must have been very hard to have your friend hurt and then have to leave…can’t wait to read more.

  8. September 21, 2009 5:12 pm

    Yes, Joey, it was hard!! More to come soon……..

Leave a Reply

