Skip to content

Uninvited Visitor

October 17, 2009

During the 6 months that I lived at Carol’s, Rick would stop by a couple times a week on his way home from work. If he was sober, he asked if I needed anything or needed anything fixed, or wood chopped. I always told him ‘No’. I wanted to remain independent of him. I didn’t want to need him for anything.

If he was drunk, he asked who I was seeing, who I was sleeping with, how many of the farmers help me with wood, etc. in exchange for sex. He was utterly repulsive with his unwarranted accusations. I never let him in when he was drunk. We talked out on the porch. If he got too loud, the neighbors could hear him and would stand by, on guard, in case I needed them to intervene. Rick would see them and get quiet, then he would leave.

I couldn’t deal with this anymore. My health was deteriorating. I was a nervous wreck. My nerves kept me upset to the point I couldn’t eat well and my –uh– intestinal problems were totally out of hand. I was constantly running to the bathroom, not being able to ‘hold it’ for even a minute. When I had to go, I had to go NOW!!

I dropped weight and was down to 82 pounds. My hands were shaky, I had no enthusiasm except when I was teaching the kids. It was all I had to look forward to and now that was over since school let out.

I went down to our house every afternoon during my last week there and would fill a box, that I’d bring down with me, with more of my belongings. I packed boxes for shipping to my daughter’s. That was where I was running to. Rick didn’t know where she and her family lived. He didn’t even know her married name. He would never find me there.

I kept the packed boxes in Carol’s storeroom where Rick would never see them. When I had all that I wanted I put all the boxes into Carol’s truck and drove to the UPS building and shipped them out.

Now, to get myself out of there…………..

abm-blog-siggy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 11:50 am

    Oh my goodness, you poor soul! I admire you! Thank God you got out!
    Big hugs.

  2. October 18, 2009 12:24 pm

    Thank you Jonie!

  3. Margie permalink
    October 19, 2009 8:45 am

    I’m certainly glad I know that you did get out and that you are safe now.

  4. October 19, 2009 12:00 pm

    Thank you Margie!

  5. October 23, 2009 3:09 am

    You sound as if he were sucking the soul right out of you. WHich he was. All abusers do that to a point. It is good that you made the choice to get away before he pulled you so far in you couldn’t get out again. I pray there are more out there who find that strength. I pray to that they can find this blog to help them do it if they need to!

  6. October 23, 2009 9:55 am

    Yep! Joey, it was definitely time to get out. My health was slowly deteriorating, I had to do something! I, also, wish more people read my blog so they could be helped. I just don’t know how to get it out THERE so others will find it easier! 😦

Leave a Reply

